COMING SOON
This section of the website is under construction.

Loudenne

Three centuries of elegant and glamour wines

“I still remember that summer’s day when I caught sight of the distinctive silhouette of Château Loudenne rising above the lush countryside, a true rosebud among the vineyards. I remember that feeling, tinged with emotion, of pushing open the doors to this château and its Prestigious past for the very first time. I still have images in my mind of those lavish parties, so elegant and glamorous… I remember…”


The key to Loudenne is first and foremost its remarkable geographical location in the heart of the Médoc region and on the edge of the Gironde estuary. This 17th-century château is one of the few winemaking properties to have its own private dock. And from the moment you disembark onto the 326-acre property, you cannot help but be swept away by the beauty and magic of its magnificent grounds.

A few steps inside the halls of the château were indeed enough for me to understand that nothing here is ordinary, that everything here is a little different. Perhaps more refined and enigmatic. Like the English roses that have bloomed in the garden for hundreds of years, and whose scent still perfumes my memories.

The Estate : a place full of life and elegance

Loudenne also has a fine history that spans over 300 years. Its illustrious past owes much to two British wine merchants, Alfred and Walter Gilbey. In 1875, these two lovers of life and of “the finer things” decided to make the property their home residence. Over 125 years, they built up the reputation of the vineyard and turned Loudenne into a place full of life and of unparalleled receptions.

People loved to come to eat, party, and dance to the rhythm of the Charleston, foxtrot, jazz or waltz in its romantic and free atmosphere. And even today, all you have to do is close your eyes to imagine the halls of the château as they were in years gone by. Luxurious lace, silky satin, feathers and parasols for the women; made-to-measure suits, hats and handsome cars for the men. Elegance is an art form that Loudenne has always cultivated with a passion.

Château Loudenne, a symbol of glamour and modernity

Because, perhaps above all, Loudenne still represents a certain kind of elegance and way of life. The very essence of glamour and originality, like the rose-colored blush of the château’s outer wall. How many stolen kisses were exchanged within its vineyards? How many distinguished guests were welcomed in the château’s rooms? They include French and international movie stars and writers, but also some of the world’s leading figures.

They say that history tends to repeat itself... Now co-owned by Moutai, the number one Chinese liquor company, and Camus, the largest family-owned and independent cognac producer, Loudenne has reclaimed its distinguished history and recreated its past splendor.

COMING SOON
This section of the website is under construction.

Loudenne

Trois siècles de vins élégants et glamour

"Je me souviens encore de ce jour d’été où j’ai aperçu, se détachant du paysage verdoyant, la silhouette si particulière de Loudenne... véritable « bouton de rose » au cœur des vignes. Je me souviens de ce sentiment empreint d’émotion lorsque, pour la première fois, j’ai poussé les portes de cette chartreuse au passé prestigieux... Je me souviens des images de ces somptueuses soirées de fête placées sous le sceau de l’élégance et du glamour… Je me souviens…»


Loudenne, c’est tout d’abord une situation géographique exceptionnelle. Au cœur du Médoc et en bordure de l’Estuaire de la Gironde. Cette chartreuse du XVIIème siècle est une des rares propriétés viticoles à posséder son port privé. Et à peine débarqué sur ce terroir de 132 hectares, véritable terre d’excellence, on ne peut que se laisser emporter par la beauté et la magie des lieux.

"Quelques pas dans les allées du château m’auront, en effet, suffit pour comprendre qu’ici rien n’est vraiment comme ailleurs et que tout est un peu différent. Peut être, un peu plus précieux et mystérieux. A l’image de ces roses anglaises qui fleurissent dans le jardin depuis des centaines d’années... et dont l’odeur parfume encore mes souvenirs"

Le domaine : Lieu de vie et d’élégance

Loudenne c’est aussi une belle histoire longue de 300 ans. Un passé prestigieux qui doit beaucoup à deux négociants en vin britanniques : Alfred et Walter Gilbey, En 1875, ces deux amoureux de la vie et des « belles choses » décident de faire de la propriété leur port d’attache. Pendant 125 ans la famille Gilbey va bâtir la renommée du vignoble et faire de Loudenne un lieu de vie et de réception incontournable.

On aime, alors, s’y retrouver, dans une ambiance empreinte de romantisme et de liberté, pour dîner, faire la fête, danser et vivre au rythme du charleston, du jazz, de la valse ou du foxtrot . Et, aujourd’hui encore, il suffit de fermer les yeux pour s’imaginer les salons du château quelques années en arrière... Dentelle luxueuse, satin soyeux, plumes et ombrelles pour les femmes... Costumes sur mesure, chapeau et belles voitures pour les hommes... L’élégance est un art que Loudenne a toujours cultivé avec passion.

Château de Loudenne, symbole du glamour et de la modernité

Car Loudenne c’est encore, et peut être même avant tout, une certaine idée de l’art de vivre et du raffinement... L’essence même du glamour et de l’originalité... à l’image de la couleur rose qui pare les murs extérieurs de la chartreuse. Combien de baisers volés échangés dans les « folies » des vignes du domaine ? Combien d’hôtes prestigieux accueillis dans les salons du château ? Parmi elles, des stars de cinéma, françaises et internationales, des auteurs, mais aussi des grands de ce monde.

On dit que l’histoire est un éternel recommencement... Désormais copropriété de MOUTAI, premier groupe de spiritueux en Chine et de CAMUS, plus grande maison familiale indépendante de Cognac, Loudenne a renoué avec sa gloire passée et retrouve aujourd’hui le faste qui était le sien hier.